Five Knoxville area players won Mr. Football Awards when they were handed out in Murfreesboro today.

3:46 PM, Nov 26, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Five Knoxville area players won Mr. Football Awards when they were handed out in Murfreesboro today.

CAK swept the Class 2 A awards, with quarterback Charlie High earning the back honor and Tennessee commitment Brett Kendrick taking home the lineman trophy.

Grace's Will McKamey won the Class A Back Mr. Football, while Webb's Todd Kelly was the Division II-A back winner. 

Farragut's Jonathan King was named Kicker of the Year.

Here is more on the awards from the TSSAA:

Tennessee's best high school football players for 2012 were recognized at the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards luncheon hosted by the Tennessee Titans.

Over 500 people, including the honorees, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, attended the 2012 luncheon at the Embassy Suites Hotel & Conference Center.

"Today's celebration recognizes more that the ability of these young men to play our great game of football," said Titans Owner K.S. "Bud" Adams, Jr.  "The young men were here because of their outstanding character and academic achievements, traits which will pave their way through life, long after their football days has passed.  I congratulate all of the Titans Mr. Football Award finalists for the outstanding manner in which they represent their school and community!"

High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists. A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2012 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration.

The awards were presented to the top back and lineman in each of the five classifications of the Tennessee Secondary Schools Athletic Association. For the eighth time in the history of the award, the top kickers in the state were recognized. There were three finalists in this category, regardless of their school's classification.

The Titans became sponsors of the Mr. Football Awards in 2007.


Division I, Class A Lineman                                
Tyler Coen, Gordonsville

Division I, Class A Back
Will McKamey, Grace Christian

Division I, Class AA Lineman                             
Brett Kendrick, CAK  

Division I, Class AA Back
Charlie High, CAK                                                        

Division I, Class AAA Lineman                          
Austin Sanders, Bradley Central

Division I, Class AAA Back                        
Jalen Hurd, Beech

Division II-A Lineman                                           
Chase Hensley, USJ 

Division II-A Back                                           
Todd Kelly, Knoxville Webb

Division II-AA Lineman                                        
Derek Barnett, Brentwood Academy   

Division II-A Back               
Cornelius Elder, Ensworth

Kicker of the Year
Jonathan King, Farragut

Most Watched Videos