Results: County mayor races in 10 East Tennessee counties

There were a number of county mayor's races on the ballot in Tuesday's primary election.

For complete results go here. Mobile and tablet users may copy and paste this link for results.

In Cumberland County, incumbent Kenneth Carey, Jr. wins the Republican primary and the seat, because there is no challenger in the August election.

Cocke County voters selected Crystal Ottinger over incumbent Vaughn Moore by less than 200 votes. There is no Democrat running against her.

In Anderson County, incumbent Terry Frank wins the Republican primary. She will face Democrat Jim Hackworth in the general election in November.

Grainger County Mayor Mark Hipsher will serve another term after his primary win. He has no Democratic opponent.

Hawkins County voters selected Melville Bailey over Dennis Deal and Kelly Markham. Bailey got about 50 percent of the votes.

Jefferson County voters gave incumbent Alan Palmieri a close win over challenger Marty Mills, with less than 200 votes separating them. He will face Democrat Mike Dockery in the general election.

In Loudon County, Rollen Bradshaw gets a close win over incumbent Estelle Herron, by only 142 votes. There is no Democratic challenger.

In McMinn County, incumbent John Gentry wins the Republican primary and has no challenger in August.

Monroe County Mayor Tim Yates won the Republican primary. He will face Jim Stutts, a Democrat, in August.

Knox County Mayor Tim Burchett had no challenger in either the Republican or on the Democratic side, so he will serve another term.

Crystal Ottinger


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment