Results: Nine East Tennessee counties voting on top cops

A number of East Tennessee counties were voting for sheriff in the Republican primary.

For complete results go here. Mobile and tablet users may copy and paste this link for results.

Grainger County voters elected James Harville as sheriff. He held the office once before. He replaces Scott Layel, who did not seek reelection. There is no Democrat in the race, so Harvill wins the job.

Sevier County voters reelected Sheriff Ron Seals to another term.

Hamblen County voters gave the most votes to incumbent Sheriff Esco Jarnagin, who does not have a Democratic challenger.

Jefferson County voters reelected Sheriff G.W. "Bud" McCoig. He has no challenger in the August election.

McMinn County Sheriff Joe Guy was elected to another term Tuesday night. No one will challenge him in August.

Monroe County voters chose Randy White to face Sheriff Bill Bivens in the general election.

Cocke County Sheriff' Armando Fontes gets a primary victory. He will face independent Neil Rader in the general election.

In Anderson County, former Scott County sheriff Anthony Lay won the Republican primary. He will face current Sheriff Paul White, a democrat, in the August primary.

In Cumberland County, Casey Cox wins the primary and the job, as their is no Democratic challenger. Sheriff Butch Burgess did not seek reelection.

Knox County voters reelected Jimmy "JJ" Jones.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment