Law enforcement will be trying to catch impaired drivers on the road for New Year's Eve to keep the roads safer.

Authorities will stage several "no refusal" checkpoints starting Monday and lasting through Wednesday.

The state's no refusal law allows officers to get search warrants for blood samples if they suspect a driver is impaired.

The "no refusal" enforcement will be taking place in one county in each of the eight THP Districts across Tennessee.
Participating counties include Sevier (Knoxville District), Grundy (Chattanooga District); Wilson (Nashville District); Tipton (Memphis District); Washington (Fall Branch District); Putnam (Cookeville District); Maury (Lawrenceburg District); and Benton County (Jackson District)

Troopers, deputies, and officers will all be on patrol. THP will also be conducting several other sobriety checkpoints throughout the state during the New Year's Eve holiday period.